REVIEW: “Anna & the French Kiss” by Stephanie Perkins

If you’ve ever been away from home, or went through a big move, you know what it’s like to have a new reality thrown at your face. Anna goes through the same situation in “Anna and the French Kiss” by Stephanie Perkins.

I ordered this book off of Amazon after seeing a few of my favorite Booktubers discuss it as a favorite. I was beyond excited when it came in the mail yesterday. Seriously, I almost cried. Then, I started reading it, and I was overwhelmed by my own fascination with Anna and St. Claire’s relationship. St. Claire is the ever-so-hot American- French-Brit with perfect hair and a perfect body. He seems to captivate every girl’s attention, even though he’s totally taken by a college freshman girl by the name of Ellie. Anna meets him on her first day of SOAP, a.k.a School of America in Paris, after her father forced her to embrace a new country and leave all her family and friends behind in Atlanta. The story takes off from there. the reader meets Mer, Josh, Rashmi, Toph, Bridge, Dave, and even the streets of Paris, France.

This story captivated me. I felt so close to Anna by the end of the book that I couldn’t bare closing it after the last page. I eventually settled with cuddling with it for the night, using it as my pillow, which was a tad-bit uncomfortable for my head, but comforting for my heart. There was this connection with my life and hers that I had never felt with any other character before. Her insecurities were my insecurities. Her loves were my loves. Everything about her made me keep reading and then, there’s St.Claire. I absolutely adore him, his British accent, and of course, the pure friendliness of his and Anna’s relationship. My favorite parts of the book were when they would tease and joke with each other. I found myself laughing so hard at times, I almost felt silly. Above all else, I ADORED Anna’s personality. I genuinely felt connected with her thoughts.

Stephanie Perkins has officially set the bar for romance novels. I praise her for her beautiful work and I can’t wait to get my hands on “Lola and the Boy Next Door”.  This book was, in fact, life changing for me. It felt amazing to read her work, Anna’s experience, and know that I’m not the only one thinking the same things. This book is a great comfort book for girls searching for a read on first love. At first, I had been hesitant about this book. My first love had come and gone, and like any girl, I didn’t want any rough memories to resurface while reading this book. In the end, the book only made me feel hopeful. It made some of my complications make sense, and helped me realize why some things keep going wrong. This book is memorable in the way that it taught me about love, it’s sticky situations, and how to handle such an overwhelming emotion. It’s a read I recommend to anyone looking for a great romance. I will say that this book is definitely on the girly side, but still a wonderful read.

Always,

Jinapher J. Hoffman

 

WANT MORE BOOK REVIEWS? Share this review with your friends, family, and the world!

BUY THE BOOK ON AMAZON

6 thoughts on “REVIEW: “Anna & the French Kiss” by Stephanie Perkins

  1. […] Now for my favorite monthly favorites: BOOKS! Because I read so many books in August, I took it slow this month and so I only have two books that were favorites out of the four I read. They are both sequels to books I read in August that I had fallen in love with, and let me tell you, their sequels were even better. The first is “Lola and the Boy Next Door” by Stephanie Perkins (Review coming soon) and the second was “Once” by Anna Carey. Both of these books were stunning, but if I had to rate one higher above the other, it’s “Lola and the Boy Next Door”. Stephanie Perkins has an amazing talent with words, and keep your eyes open for a review on the book because I will be doing one. Like I said, “Lola and the Boy Next Door” is a sequel. So, if you would like to know more about the first book “Anna and the French Kiss”, CLICK HERE! […]

  2. Having read this I believed it was rather informative. I appreciate you finding the time and effort
    to put this short article together. I once again find myself spending a lot of time both
    reading and leaving comments. But so what, it was still worth
    it!

Leave a Reply

