Book Review: Delirium Trilogy by Lauren Oliver

Official Synopsis:

The story is set in Portland, Maine, in an alternate present. Civilization is concentrated in those cities which escaped the severe bombings of decades past. Travel between cities is highly restricted. Electric fences separate the city from the Wilds—unregulated territory which was presumably mostly destroyed by bombs.

The totalitarian government teaches that love is a disease, named amor deliria nervosa, commonly referred to as “the deliria”. A surgical cure for the deliria has been developed and is mandatory for citizens 18 years old and over. Lena has looked forward to the procedure for years, convinced as she is by the government that love is a horrible disease that must be destroyed from mankind’s system.

However, mere months before her scheduled procedure, Lena falls in love with an Invalid. (Wikipedia)

My Loves:

Okay, let me start off by saying this: I absolutely adored this trilogy! Now, let me get into the first book. I am going to try and avoid any spoilers! I love Lena. I love her insecurities in this book and I love the way she wants to take care of Grace, her cousin, and be just like her super-model-gorgeous-best-friend, Hanna. Lena from the very beginning is a diverse and dynamic character. I love watching her grow throughout the trilogy and become that headstrong woman she was always meant to be. Second, ALEX. Alex was so unbelievably mysterious! The reader always knows that there’s something that’s bound to happen between him and Lena, so this really doesn’t give anything away when I say they fall in love. I love how different Alex is compared to Lena. They really don’t share too much in common, but I think that’s what makes their relationship so much more interesting to read about it. Third, the world building throughout the entire trilogy is INCREDIBLE. I could visually experience everything Lena, Alex, and Hanna were experiencing, which is always nice when you have a dystopian based trilogy. Last, but certainly not least, is Lauren Oliver’s writing style. Being a writer, I found this style to be OH MY GOSH PERFECT. You feel everything, see everything, and you really get to know every single character. I gave this trilogy a 5 out of 5 stars on Goodreads & Twitter, and it absolutely deserved it!

Writers: If you are writing a fantasy, sci-fi, romance, or dystopian story, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND you read this trilogy. The writing style was very inspirational to me and I’m sure it will be for you too!

My Likes:

I liked a lot of the figurative language usage. Again, I recommend this book for those writers who are just searching for a way to really enhance their own writing style. I pretty much “liked” everything about this trilogy, so let’s move on to the dislikes.

My Dislikes:

What I disliked MOST about the entire trilogy was the ending. I will not spoil what happens, but you should know that this trilogy doesn’t fully conclude itself. As the reader, you pretty much have to visualize your own ending, but sometimes that makes it more interesting. The ending definitely made me think, so I give Lauren Oliver props for that, but I really wish I knew what happened between the love interests and how it all resolves itself. A lot of my questions weren’t answered, which I also really disliked.

My Hates:

There’s not that much I hated about this trilogy. I guess the number one thing for me is not getting to know Alex a little better. I feel like he has such a cool background story, and I hate that it’s not included somehow in some way. There is a very brief part about him in the last book at the end, but other than that, it was kind of disappointing.

Well, that’s all folks! I hope you found this review helpful! If so, share it with your friends, family, or even your beloved pet. Thank-you for reading and be sure to check out the video review I will be posting up this weekend. Not only will I go into depth on Delirium, but also Shadow and Bone, Shatter Me, and Black City!

Open suggestions are now being taken for reviews. If you want me to review a book, comment the title and author below.

Always,

Jinapher J. Hoffman

MY LINKS

Check the “Get Updated” tab for all my social network links.

Be sure to follow me on twitter, which is my most updated account!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Delirium Trilogy by Lauren Oliver

Leave a Reply

