Book Review: Shadow & Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Official Synopsis: 

Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.

Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.

Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness looming and an entire kingdom depending on her untamed power, Alina will have to confront the secrets of the Grisha . . . and the secrets of her heart. (Barnes and Noble)

My General Opinion:

This book received 5 out of 5 stars from me on twitter, but after much debating, a star has been knocked off. This book was extraordinarily well-written, but I had some problems with the world building. There was so much going on, almost too much, and when an author does that, it’s their job to make it all clear to their readers. I found it rather confusing. However, the story was incredible. I loved the whole idea of magic and how Bardugo made everything sinister in a light way. There’s this dark, morbid reality wrapped into a love triangle, which truly made me turn page after page to find out who wins Alina, the protagonist, over. I had very high expectations for this book due to other reader’s reactions, but I wasn’t fully pleased with it. It’s not a book I would read twice, but it was a book I enjoyed reading once. I will read the sequel, mainly because I want to know about Alina and Mal ( it better be Mal!). That review will come later on, since at the moment it’s a little pricey! I also recommend that you order this book off of Amazon. I do believe I purchased it for $5, and it was a used but in good condition book. That helped me escape the high price book stores sell it for.

Thanks for reading! I hope this review was helpful, and if so, be sure to share it with your friends and family!

Always,

Jinapher J. Hoffman

One thought on “Book Review: Shadow & Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Leave a Reply

