Book Review: Teardrop by Lauren Kate

A few hours ago, I finished a book I was very hesitant to read. My reason being because I had such high expectations for it that I was scared I would hate it if I read it and not be able to live with myself.

Guess what? It lived up to my expectations. It lived BEYOND my expectations!

“Teardrop” by Lauren Kate was phenomenal. I read it within a few hours and could NOT put it down for even a second. It was a quick read but a very enjoyable read. Here’s some extra details if you’re interested.

Synopsis

Never, ever cry…

Seventeen-year-old Eureka won’t let anyone close enough to feel her pain. After her mother was killed in a freak accident, the things she used to love hold no meaning. She wants to escape, but one thing holds her back: Ander, the boy who is everywhere she goes, whose turquoise eyes are like the ocean.

And then Eureka uncovers an ancient tale of romance and heartbreak, about a girl who cried an entire continent into the sea. Suddenly her mother’s death and Ander’s appearance seem connected, and her life takes on dark undercurrents that don’t make sense.

Can everything you love be washed away? (Goodreads)

Why I loved it

I absolutely adored Eureka, the main character. From the moment I met her, I knew that she was the kind of girl I wanted to know more about. She’s intriguing and unique, even with her depression through most of the novel. I loved how she didn’t care what other people thought, and I LOVED the fact that she never cries. She is such a strong girl! Plus, there’s also Ander. Oh goodness, where do I begin? He’s the hot protective prince every girl dreams of having. Reading the Prologue made me fall in love with him and then seeing the things he does for Eureka throughout the novel makes me love him even more. Character development was FANTASTIC. I felt like I knew who every character was and the I knew them personally. I could relate to some of the circumstances that are thrown at Eureka and the way she handles them just makes me want to become a stronger person.

What I Disliked

To be honest, there really wasn’t a whole lot I didn’t like about this book. The one thing that drove me insane, and kind-of set my hopes low for the book, was the opening sentences in the Prologue. They were not even sentences, more like fragments, and it really just didn’t set the entirety of the mood that follows with Ander’s perspective. It drove me insane, but that was pretty much the only thing I didn’t like. Of course, I am not a fan of the “evil” characters, but that’s the point, so she ( Lauren Kate ) did that well.

Shout Out To My Mentor

Not too long ago, I began to read the Fallen Series and fell in love with it. When I was going through a writing slump, I ended up emailing three of my most favorite author’s, Lauren Kate being one of them. She emailed me back about an essay long response on not giving up on my writing. Her words inspired me to keep going and to keep trying to pursue my dream. Because of that, I owe her a HUGE thanks. I probably wouldn’t be sitting here typing book reviews for you all if it hadn’t been for her. If you haven’t already checked out Lauren Kate’s books, please do. This woman is a genius!

Always,

Jinapher J. Hoffman

Links

Wikipedia: Lauren Kate

Goodreads: Teardrop

Purchase: Amazon

Purchase: Barnes & Noble

Purchase: Books-A-Million

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Teardrop by Lauren Kate

Leave a Reply

