Book Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

Synopsis:

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up. -Goodreads

 What I thought:

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey was one of the most intelligently written novels I’ve read in a long time. I found the Cassie, the main protagonist, was easy to follow, understand, and just an all-around fun character to read about. I loved the different dimensions there was to Cassie. There were some moments where she is the warrior everyone would think she would be after everything that has happened. But, at the same time, there’s this softer side that is brought out by people like her younger brother, Sammy, or her acquaintance, later much more, Evan. I have to admit that this novel was by far one of the best I’ve read, however, there were a few things I didn’t like. I much would have wanted the point of view to just be from Cassie and not by Ben, but I can see why they are both crucial point of views. Often times, I found Ben’s story lacking the emotional background that Cassie’s story had. I just didn’t feel any emotional connection with Ben. On the other hand, Cassie seemed more real-life.

A note about the book is that it’s one of those reads you won’t be able to put down. So, make sure you have the time to start and finish it. For me, the story got twisted around and confusing after about 8 hours of non-stop reading! I ended up having to go back the next morning and re-read through the last chapter to fully understand what was going on. It’s a book that requires your full attention.

My Rating:

My official rating for this novel is 5 out of 5 stars, mainly for the main character Cassie. I definitely recommend this book to Young Adults, but I don’t recommend it for anyone below the age of thirteen. It’s a great and insightful story, but it does deal with some PG-13 content. Also, understand that this novel ABSOLUTELY falls under the Sci-Fi genre. This will not be one of your fantasy picks. Please be sure to give it a read and comment below your favorite or non-favorite part of the book!

 

Always,

Jinapher J. Hoffman

Links of Interest:

Rick Yancey Bio

Goodreads Information

Buy the Book

 

One thought on “Book Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

Leave a Reply

