Book Review: Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

Danger and betrayal, secrets and enchantment in the breathtaking conclusion to the Infernal Devices trilogy.

Tessa Gray should be happy – aren’t all brides happy? Yet as she prepares for her wedding, a net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute.

A new demon appears, one linked by blood and secrecy to Mortmain, the man who plans to use his army of pitiless automatons, the Infernal Devices, to destroy the Shadowhunters. Mortmain needs only one last item to complete his plan. He needs Tessa. And Jem and Will, the boys who lay equal claim to Tessa’s heart, will do anything to save her.

-Goodreads

My Opinion

Cassandra Clare did a fabulous job with this last book in the Infernal Devices Trilogy. However, I was able to come up with some pros and cons for the novel. To my disappointment, I found the first 200 pages to be quite bland. Of course, I loved the development of the agony of Tessa and Will or Tessa and Jem, but I thought it was too much. Chapter after Chapter seemed to simply be about Tessa’s indecision. I could handle four chapters of her making up her mind, but after several? It became quite unenjoyable. On the flip side, when things finally started to heat up in the romances and also in the action, the book sucked me in. I could hardly put it down after the first 200 pages, reading every word like it was the word of God himself. It was breathtaking and the ending was astonishingly perfect. Not going to lie, I’m pretty sure I teared up a bit at the end. I absolutely recommend this book to anyone who has read Clockwork Angel and Clockwork Prince already. I promise it will fully answer all of your questions. Well, that is, except for one. I’m not sure if I somehow missed the answer to this, so please tell me if I did because it’s driving me crazy: What did Jem leave in his Yen Fin box for Will?

Other than that, the ending suited the trilogy well and also gave much insight to it’s sister series The Mortal Instruments (including the first book, City of Bones, which recently came out on DVD). Overall, I’d rate this last book 3 stars out of 5 purely because of the drawn out beginning. Had there been more progression in the beginning, the story most definitely would have received 5 out of 5 stars. Be sure to check out the links (pictures) below to purchase the trilogy off of Amazon if interested!

Always,

Jinapher J. Hoffman

Purchase The Infernal Devices Trilogy Today

CA_cover

Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

Clockwork-Princess-official-book-cover-cassandra-clare-31431560-1266-1920

Leave a Reply

