Book Review: Reached by Ally Condie

After leaving Society to desperately seek The Rising, and each other, Cassia and Ky have found what they were looking for, but at the cost of losing each other yet again. Cassia is assigned undercover in Central city, Ky outside the borders, an airship pilot with Indie. Xander is a medic, with a secret. All too soon, everything shifts again.

-Goodreads

My Thoughts:

Reached by Ally Condie is a novel I had been putting off reading purely because I had heard such mixed reviews. I was scared the book wouldn’t live up to my expectations, and unfortunately, it did not. Now, I don’t usually write harsh reviews, but I feel that this one is a must.

Reached left me speechless and not in a good way. I finished reading it over 48 hours ago and I am still fuming with disappointment. Here’s why:

  1. I felt that the book was very bland of any emotion. The book seemed to be a rough sketch rather than a beautiful painting.
  2. Character development was little to none. Even though some drastic changes are taking place throughout the book, the characters don’t evolve and their reactions are small to most things.
  3. Going along with #2, there was so many amazing things happening in the book, yet the writing was so (to be blunt) estranged and hollow that I didn’t even care. I mean, “Hello!” if a zombie apocalypse happens in a book(spoiler alert:¬†Reached has no zombies) I want to see drastic twists and turns in the plot!

Again, I hate to be a tough critic, but I don’t want to lie either. For those of Ally Condie’s faithful followers, don’t get your hopes up too much. On a brighter side, the book was interesting mainly for finding out how it all ended with Cassie, Xander, and Ky(the main characters). I rate this book a 2 out of 5 stars, my lowest score to date, and I hope that Ally Condie’s next works will improve.

Always,

Jinapher J. Hoffman

Try the Matched Trilogy for Yourself

matchedtumblr_lv3jh6t7ZS1r289afo1_400 reached_510

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Reached by Ally Condie

Leave a Reply

