Book Review: Sia by Josh Grayson

When seventeen-year-old Sia wakes up on a park bench, she has no idea who or where she is. Yet after a week of being homeless, she’s reunited with her family. At school, she’s powerful and popular. At home, she’s wealthy beyond her dreams. But she quickly realizes her perfect life is a lie. Her family is falling apart and her friends are snobby, cruel and plastic. Worse yet, she discovers she was the cruelest one. Mortified by her past, she embarks on a journey of redemption and falls for Kyle, the “geek” she once tormented. Yet all the time she wonders if, when her memories return, she’ll become the bully she was before…and if she’ll lose Kyle.

-Goodreads

My Review

Sia by Josh Grayson was one of those unexpected enjoyable reads that I have picked up lately. I stumbled upon it, along with The Sound of Us by Ashley Poston (click here for the review), while browsing the “Under $2.99 Reads” section on my NOOK store. The plot has intrigued me the most. I’ve always been interested in the idea of amnesia, so naturally, I had to purchase the book. This book was like a backwards Mean Girls. Instead of watching a girl become one of the “Plastics”, readers watch Sia become everything popular that isn’t “Plastic”. I loved how real Sia’s character was. It was refreshing to have a great contemporary read with just the right amount of plot and dialogue mixed together. I feel like sometimes there’s so much inner dialogue within contemporary novels that can really almost make a story boring these days. Sia, however, was a major exception to that. I never found myself searching for a reason to stop reading as I have with previous contemporary novels. I adored Sia and especially Kyle. I loved how every problem Sia faced were all very real problems today, rich or not. Her social status was definitely high up there, but it was nice to read a book where the rich snob isn’t necessarily the rich snob everyone wants her to be. I give Sia 4.5 stars out of 5, because I really would have liked to see more of Kyle and Sia together. They seem to have such a wonderful relationship, and I think it’s one of those that would be great to watch blossom. I highly recommend this book to anyone searching for a quick, different read in the contemporary/romance section.

Always,

Jinapher J. Hoffman

Buy Sia by Josh Grayson for Your Nook

18482726

Buy Sia by Josh Grayson for Your Kindle

18482726

Leave a Reply

