Book Review: “Dead Girls Don’t Lie” by Jennifer Shaw Wolf

Rachel died at two a.m . . . Three hours after Skyler kissed me for the first time. Forty-five minutes after she sent me her last text. 

Jaycee and Rachel were best friends. But that was before. . .before that terrible night at the old house. Before Rachel shut Jaycee out. Before Jaycee chose Skyler over Rachel. Then Rachel is found dead. The police blame a growing gang problem in their small town, but Jaycee is sure it has to do with that night at the old house. Rachel’s text is the first clue—starting Jaycee on a search that leads to a shocking secret. Rachel’s death was no random crime, and Jaycee must figure out who to trust before she can expose the truth.

In the follow-up to her powerful debut, Jennifer Shaw Wolf keeps readers on their toes in another dark, romantic story of murder and secrets.

-Goodreads

My Review

Dead Girls Don’t Lie by Jennifer Shaw Wolf took me completely by surprise. It was one of the books my NOOK had in their $2.99 section, and after silently debating whether I should waste the money or not, I did. Now, I am quite pleased for spending the money or I would have never been able to follow the thrill Jaycee, the protagonist of the novel, went through. First, let me just say that this book is unlike many murder stories. Usually, when I pick up murder mysteries from the YA section of a bookstore, I’m not pleased because I can figure out who did everything by the middle of the book, making the rest boring. However, Dead Girls Don’t Lie took me completely by shock. Through out the whole book, I felt it was someone Jaycee REALLY trusted, but never did I think it would be the person it ended up being. Plus, even if reading you were to possibly figure it out, the reasons behind that person murdering Jaycee’s best friend are almost unbelievable (in the good way). Because I do not want to spoil anyone, I won’t be going into much detail about the story this time. I think that anyone looking for a quick thriller should definitely give this book a try. I thoroughly enjoyed it and was able to also get my fill of adventure, mystery, romance, and complication within the one book. I rate Dead Girls Don’t Lie 5 out of 5 stars, for it’s utter brilliance and mastery in the topic of mystery and crime.

Always,

Jinapher J. Hoffman

Buy Dead Girls Don’t Lie Today

17286807

Leave a Reply

