Book Review: “Looking for Alaska” by John Green

Before. Miles “Pudge” Halter’s whole existence has been one big nonevent, and his obsession with famous last words has only made him crave the “Great Perhaps” (François Rabelais, poet) even more. He heads off to the sometimes crazy, possibly unstable, and anything-but-boring world of Culver Creek Boarding School, and his life becomes the opposite of safe. Because down the hall is Alaska Young. The gorgeous, clever, funny, sexy, self-destructive, screwed-up, and utterly fascinating Alaska Young, who is an event unto herself. She pulls Pudge into her world, launches him into the Great Perhaps, and steals his heart.

After. Nothing is ever the same.

-Goodreads

My Review

Quite Honestly, it’s been quite awhile since I’ve read this book. I meant to review it after I read it months ago, and for some strange reason, I never did! So, now, I will be reviewing it and, of course, all of it’s absolute amazingness! After reading The Fault in Our Stars by John Green a little over two years ago, I knew I needed to read some more of his works. Looking for Alaska is the second book I’ve read by John Green, and although I personally do not thing it amounts to how perfect TFiOS was, I still give it 5 out of 5 stars. This is why:

No matter what a book is about, when John Green writes it and a reader reads it, it’s life changing. I’ve yet to not be inspired by his words and I can only hope to be as good of an author as he is some day. His works have put me in awe, and Looking for Alaska is a book that changed my life. I loved the characters and I also loved the simplistic adventure of it all. It was an everyday story, yet John Green was able to twist it in a shocking way. I laughed, I cried, and had many feelings while reading this book. My favorite part, however, is “Pudge’s” idea of a Great Perhaps. I feel like everyone is always searching for that one thing they are meant to do, and Pudge called that one thing his Great Perhaps. I love that, and have been so inspired to start searching for my Great Perhaps too.

All in all,  Looking for Alaska by John Green is a book that will open up eyes. I recommend it for anyone looking for a life-changing read, and if they perhaps need some life inspiration. Again, I will mention I rated this book 5 out of 5 stars.

Always,

Jinapher J. Hoffman

Buy Looking for Alaska by John Green

LookingForAlaska-cover

Leave a Reply

