Top Ten Tuesday {9}- Top Ten Most Unique Books I’ve Read

This week for Top Ten Tuesday I will be listing the Top Ten Most Unique Books I’ve Read. After careful deliberation, I have found ten that have majorly inspired my own writing and made me a better writer from the different uses of techniques.

The_Fault_in_Our_Stars

1. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

This book displayed an admirable type of wit I had never experienced within a story before. The use of an everyday life experience, plus the beautiful sayings and meanings behind every word used, inspired me to pull from myself what was missing in my stories: bravery.

1359025140_8206_Delirium

2. Delirium Trilogy by Lauren Oliver

Specifically, these books have transformed my writing in the way that Lauren Oliver’s writing is so naturally poetic. It all flows together perfectly from one transition to another. Her writing’s structure and organization really helped me refine my own syntax. Also, in Pandemonium, when the chapter are flicking back from Now and Later, I really enjoyed that major difference in her writing. The reader gets to experience a fascinating transition in her main characters every single chapter.

Arkham cover D final

3. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

First of all, this classic has become by far one of my favorite books. The idea behind an everlasting youth and how nothing can truly last forever is the basis for all of our lives. Through his work, Oscar Wilde has taught me to define a character and all of their wants and needs before ever even writing the story. Wilde portrays some of the best structure, organization, intrigue, and character development I’ve ever read in my entire life. It’s no wonder this man’s novel is a classic. I own two copies: one, I’ve marked up and annotated for a past literature class, and the second, I’ve bought just to admire it.

maradyerevolutioncoverofficial

 

 

4. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Never have I read anything so enticing in my entire life. These two books have showed me what it means to put suspense and unexpected results into a novel. I learned how to build up great romances and how to transition between frame stories because of these books. These two books are among my most enjoyable reads. Michelle Hodkin really taught me what it means to pull a reader into a story and to not loosen the tie until the very last word. I would know: I’m dying for the last book to be released.

97801432062621

5. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

This book is another one of my most enjoyable reads. I feel this book purely prevails because of its relatability to teenage girls and their desires to become the best they can be AND to have the best that they can. Not only did this book teach me how to be a better person, it also taught me how important relatability is in the world of writing. 

13188676

6. Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

If you have read the Shatter Me Trilogy, then you’re probably wondering why I put the last book on here and not all three. Here’s why: Shatter Me was an introduction to Tahereh Mafi for me. I found her writing style diverse and it intrigued me, but the over all story was very mediocre. Moving on to the second book, Unravel Me, this book was once again mediocre. The story line and the progression was fantastic, and I found the both books very interesting, but it wasn’t until Ignite Me that I was fully sold on this trilogy. Ignite Me taught me what it means to make your readers happy. It taught me how to correctly tie off loose ends and to have plenty of twists but with the correct amount of “a perfect ending”. I loved this book because it also dealt a lot with overcoming the fear of your own failures and not judging people by the first three things you know about them. It taught me life lessons I still use today.

newugliescoverbig

7. Uglies Series by Scott Westerfeld

So, I’m not sure how many of you know this, but this series was the second book series I had ever read. However, the first book series I read was also by Scott Westerfeld and it was his Midnighters Series. Scott Westerfeld and his works have played a large role in my life, especially his Uglies Series. After reading the first book, Uglies, I had never felt more inclined to write my own book in my entire life. His words and worlds intrigued me and showed me that “different” is how you make it big in the writing world. I adore his Uglies Series and always will hold it very dear to my heart. Thanks to my older sister, I now have the newest set of the Uglies Series with the brand new spiffy covers. I’m in love!

rapture lauren kate

8. Rapture by Lauren Kate

This book is the last book in Lauren Kate’s Fallen Series. Her series was the first of many series, but also one of my favorites. I read the first book, Fallen, when I was going through a very difficult time in my life, and ever since then, I’ve admired the beauty of Lauren Kate’s words because of the way they helped me feel “okay” and “ready to write” again. The last book, Rapture, is by far my favorite out of the series. It was the first book I had ever read, been taken completely by surprise, AND bawl my eyes out! Not once had I ever cried reading a book, but somehow, Rapture broke that barrier. This book is unique in the way that it opened my mind to an enchanting world and made an emotional connection I have never had with any other book.

9781451696196_custom-8facac331bb0f94464bfb01d94681a25c0a8d671-s6-c30

9. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

This book pretty much speaks on its own… *speaking*… Anyways, I love this book. This book is unique in the way that it taught me that even in the worst of situations, and even after the darkest of times, there will be light and happiness. It’s a book that taught me wisdom, and the fact that it’s from the perspective of an outsider made it even better.

Starcrossed

10. Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini

Though this book isn’t as widely known as others, I felt the need to put it on this list because not only was it a very enjoyable read, but it also involved ideas I’d never seen used in any other books. It’s unique ability to take our mythological stories and twist them into something modern, magnificent, and just plain perfect left me dumbfounded. It inspired me to search beyond the stars for a winning book idea, and I hope that the book I’m working on now is a result of that.

Well, that’s it for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday. I hope everyone enjoyed and if you have any comments, leave them below! Also, if you have any books you would like me to review, please don’t forget to suggest them in The Box.

Always,

Jinapher J. Hoffman

 

Leave a Reply

