Book Review: “The One” by Kiera Cass

a75b525fb8cafadc26e00868257ae1bc

Synopsis

The Selection changed the lives of thirty-five girls forever. And now, the time has come for one winner to be chosen.

America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown—or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the competition approaches its end and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose—and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants.

From the very first page of The Selection, this #1 New York Times bestselling series has captured readers’ hearts and swept them away on a captivating journey… Now, in The One, Kiera Cass delivers a satisfying and unforgettable conclusion that will keep readers sighing over this electrifying fairy-tale long after the final page is turned. (Goodreads)

My Review

Once again, one of my favorite trilogies has reached its end. There are not enough words to explain how amazing this book was. It was the perfect conclusion, really, and an enjoyable read. If you follow me on Twitter, you already know that I rated this book 5 out of 5 stars, and I know you must be wondering what it is about this book that made me give it such a high rating. First of all, the characters within all three books are splendid. Their development is great and I love how personal the story can become for a reader. It was interesting to watch America, the main character, transform into this beautiful princess BUT still be herself. This book taught me a very important lesson: You can change without changing your true self. You can still be you AND change habits you’ve been needing to change.

I also believe that this book represents the writer that Kiera Cass has become. As the trilogy progressed, her writing got stronger and stronger. I felt connected to America and whenever tragedy struck in her life, I could feel her pain. In my first review of both The Selection and The Elite, which are the first two novels in the trilogy, I mentioned how the world development had been vague. Now, having read the final book, I have to admit that is the one thing I really wish Kiera had gone back and touched up on. I want to know more about this hostile world governed by the hostile king. Honestly, the lack of world development really should have given the novel a 4 out of 5 stars. However, because the story line is focused on the characters rather than the world itself, I was able to overlook that detail.

Lastly, the progression of the novel was spot on. There were absolutely no dull spots and my heart was racing during at least three-fourths of the book. Transition from chapter to chapter was perfect and I loved the natural flow to all of the events. Plus, seeing the events through America’s eyes, eyes that have never seen much of anything elaborate, is amazing. Just like the reader, America is experiencing the story herself. So, I believe that’s where the connection becomes really strong between reader and character.

Other than that, though there are a million other praises that could be given, I conclude by letting The One by Kiera Cass reach 5 out of 5 stars. I applaud the grace and wisdom of the overall product, and I cannot wait to see what Kiera Cass will bring to the publishing houses next.

Always,

Jinapher J. Hoffman

READ THE SELECTION AND THE ELITE BOOK REVIEWS HERE.

Leave a Reply

