BOOK REVIEW: “Of Breakable Things” by A. Lynden Rolland

If you happened to catch this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, then you might recognize the title of the book I am reviewing: Of Breakable Things by A. Lynden Rolland.

A stumbled upon this book while searching for books with unique covers for my Top Ten Tuesday, and was absolutely captivated. I figured that if someone had put so much handwork into such a beautiful cover then the story might be good as well, and, boy, was I correct.

16050312

Of Breakable Things  is as unique of a read as its cover is. The story is beyond any story I’ve ever read, and just so different. As an avid reader, I’ve read my fair share of YA Fantasy/Paranormal books involving the afterlife and the dead. However, Of Breakable Things invents a whole new perception on what it means to be dead. Even if you’re not one for ghost reads, I assure you that this book will not disappoint. It’s an enjoyable, fun read that kept me intrigued the whole time. Lately, I’ve had a very tough time finding books that do not have at least one or two boring parts to it. With Of Breakable Things, every single word of that book twisted into the plot. There was never a dull part, and even if there wasn’t constant action, there was enough mystery to keep me interested. Also, another thing I adored about this book was the fact that the world development was spot-on. The setting was totally Hogwarts-esque with the “newburies” school that main character, Alex Ash, attends after becoming part of the afterlife. It’s very intriguing and very different, again, just read it!

How I had never heard of this book, I certainly have no idea. It’s a lot better than some of the YA novels lining the best-seller shelves as we speak. Of course, that’s my personal opinion, but having read most of those best-sellers, it’s an honest opinion. Trust me, if you’ve yet to dive into the supernatural world of Alex and Chase, then you need to! I recommend this book to anyone and everyone looking for a phenomenal read, especially if they need a break from the “norm” of YA (meaning the surplus of Dystopian/Apocalyptic and Angel/Vampire stories).

Of Breakable Things is given a 5 out of 5 star rating!

Always,

Jinapher J. Hoffman

(p.s. Of Breakable Things is only $3.99 in the NOOK store right now!)

Leave a Reply

