MOBILE FASHION WEEK 2014

Charity, in my personal opinion, had never looked as good as it did last night at the Mobile Fashion Week Finale held at Hargrove Engineers & Constructors in Mobile, AL. Last year, I blogged the entirety of MFW, sitting through each show and writing down my favorite pieces. This year, I wanted to do something different- something that would put my writing abilities to the test. So, after a nerve-wracking try-out (though I truly had nothing to be nervous about), I became a MFW model and decided upon a behind-the-scenes look of what it’s like to be a model during a fashion week.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

First of all, if you’ve never heard of MFW, then you might need a little background. Mobile Fashion Week is just like any other fashion week, except it donates proceeds and raises awareness for charity. Since it’s start, Mobile Fashion Week has been fashion with a cause, helping charities such as Camp Rap-A-Hope and Eye Heart World. Personally, I have volunteered and worked with Eye Heart World a few times before for both writing and modeling, and I could not have been more pleased to walk their collection of new tanks, tees, handbags, fanny packs, and even dog collars; all of which can be bought on their website this Fall (links below). I wish I could have had more involvement with Camp Rap-A-Hope, which helps cancer patients. I will also provide their links below for those who may have a similar interest in helping those who fight the hardship of cancer. Though I have not been as actively involved with Camp Rap-A-Hope, it was still an honor to walk the runway at Mobile Fashion Week for such a great charity.

However, is Mobile Fashion Week just about giving money to the charities? No, it’s much more than that.

IMG_0792

Models showing off their DH designs. Photo provided by Kara Bolling.

All night long, I watched hair stylists, make-up artists, designers, models, and crew members work hard to make the night perfect, and that’s not just because it’s for a good cause; it’s also because it’s not every day they get the chance to show-off their one-of-a-kind art, and MFW gives them that chance. Having looked from the outside for so many years, I never truly understood the effort that’s put into these runway shows. It doesn’t matter if it’s an upscale show like the ones during New York Fashion Week or a show in a smaller city during Mobile Fashion Week. Either way, there are people behind-the-scenes working their butts off to make that show as beautiful as the clothes that walk in it. Being a model this year put that aspect of the show right in front of my eyes for the entire day Saturday, September 27th, 2014. I’ll admit, there were times when I would think, “How in the world is this show supposed to happen by 7:30?” especially with some of the designers running late and the hair and make-up being such a tedious task. Then, before I knew it, it was five minutes before I had to walk, the chairs in the audience were filled to the max, and it just kind-of happened. I still think I’m processing the situation, but it was an experience I will never regret because it was so chaotically beautiful.

In all, there were several highlights to my night. The day started off slow, but around 3 pm, I was getting the most fabulous “mow-hawk” type hair style from an equally fabulous hair stylist, Star. Having been a previous competitive cheerleader, the tugging on my hair was nothing new, and in the end, I think the style was a winner for most of the clothing walking the runway. After my hair was finished, Mrs. Suzanne, model coordinator extraordinaire, had the models rehearse our line-ups. I experienced some nerves the first time walking, but I quickly learned that I had nothing to be nervous about! I believe my walk probably isn’t the best out there, but I still embraced confidence, even if there wasn’t a whole lot to embrace, and walked like I was born to walk on a runway. At least, I hope I walked like I was born to walk on a runway. One can only hope, right?

Anyways, after rehearsals, I went to get my make-up done, which I was pretty darn excited about. I don’t know about you, but I love overly-exaggerated eyebrows, and after noticing that was what MAC was giving the models, I grabbed the first open seat I could find. The MAC make-up artist doing mine introduced herself as Allie, and did such an amazing job on my make-up! It was light weight and visually stunning on the runway. The eyebrows, however, were my absolute favorite part of the look: dark and bold. Of course, there were some photos being taken after the complete make-up, and then I had to say my good-byes to the MAC station and head over to couture fashion designer, and older sister, Destani Hoffman, where I found myself being put into a stylish, black and white polka-dotted, straight-jacket-type dress! Last year, DH made its first appearance in MFW and was instantly tagged as one of the most bizarre collections to hit the runway. In the fashion industry, that’s one of the best comments an avant-guarde fashion designer can receive. This year, DH brought the same bizarre atmosphere to the runway, only this time with a very thought-out and structured collection, which happens to be all about love. Personally, I’d love to get into the details of my sister’s collection, because when one sees the “straight-jacket” inspired designs of black, white, purple, and googly eyes, their first thoughts are typically not about romance. However, just like last year, I will have an Exclusive Look (COMING SOON) available for anyone interested in the DH Fall 2014 Collection.

Now that’s settled, let’s move on to the two other shows I walked for: Private Gallery and Eye Heart World. Private Gallery gave me a look TO DIE FOR to wear. The top, a dark green Free People long-sleeved shirt, was my favorite piece of the outfit. I’ve always been a HUGE Free People fan, but could never afford to wear their products (other then some socks I bought last year in California). So, I was pretty psyched to be wearing it. The shirt was accompanied by some dark, plaid pants, which complimented the shirt quite nicely. and were SO comfy. I didn’t want to take them off, but I had to in order to change into my next look by another favorite of mine, Eye Heart World! My look was black leather pants, which were OMG amazing, a black tank, and a black button-up featuring the brown Eye Heart World Classic Hand-bag. The bag was very cute, and not only that, but it was also chic and comfortable. The straps had fit on my shoulder nicely, and I didn’t have to worry about them falling down or irritating my skin while I was walking down the runway. Plus, I mean, the proceeds from the hand-bag go towards a fantastic cause- human trafficking awareness and prevention- so, there’s nothing not to love about it. After I finished with Eye Heart World, there was only one more thing left for me to do: parade in the Finale!

After it was all said and done, most of those who were left went up to the roof for an after-party. It was nice getting to know other models and talking with everyone about their opinions on the show. From what I could hear, the hard work paid off, and after an egg roll or two, I headed home for the night. It had, overall, been an amazing experience. Yes, there were some hiccups here and there, but it was practically a perfect night in Downtown Mobile, AL. I encourage anyone who reads this to check out Mobile Fashion Week’s website (links below) and to send me your thoughts on this post or, if you attended the show, what you thought about MFW! I’ll be re-tweeting for the rest of the day!

Always,

Jinapher J.Hoffman

LINKS

Mobile Fashion Week

Eye Heart World

Camp Rap-A-Hope

MAC

Destani Hoffman

Private Gallery

Alexandrea West: Make-up Artist

3 thoughts on “MOBILE FASHION WEEK 2014

Leave a Reply

