DEADlines

When it comes to getting things done, it can take a lot of hard work and effort- especially, when you’re a teenage girl juggling finals, a book publishing contract, and personal life. Often times, I find myself wallowing in the great depth of deadlines- and, this is how I’ve overcome it.

Deadlines are nothing scary. Just think of them as goals you need to reach at a certain time. We all have goals, and we all work to accomplish them. However, with goals, you can take your time. With deadlines? Not so much. I’ve found that NOT lying in bed scrolling through Instagram and Twitter is an efficient way to make a deadline. Instead, coming straight home after school and popping open my laptop is the easiest way to get started.

Writing books is something I’ve done for a really long time. Now, it comes naturally. However, I’ve recently signed on with Tate Publishing and now, instead of taking my time, I have to find ways to get my inspiration pumping.Music is probably my biggest life savior (along with chocolate), and also, just getting some exercise to get my blood helping does the trick too. So, again, lying in bed and doing nothing certainly does NOT help. Trust me, I learned the hard way.

My first deadline is to complete my manuscript by January 1st, which is a deadline I’ve set for myself so that production can get going. It’s idealistic with the Holidays around the corner. I’ll have plenty of down time. However, a lot of my classes at school gave me projects and essays and assignments over the break, which is BEYOND frustrating. So, I’ve had to figure out a way to juggle all these tasks at once to 1) maintain good grades and 2) make my dream of publishing come true. It’s been one of those “floating” months, where I’m just trying to get things done- and, not necessarily the best I can. That’s my first mistake.

If you’re going to take the time out of your day to do something: do it right.

It’s common sense, I know, but in a world that moves by so quickly- even in a small town in Alabama- sometimes I forget what my best even feels and looks like. The good news is that I’ve learned from my mistake. I’ve learned that nothing gets done without a little hard work.

I guess the moral of this post is to do it, and do it right. Make your deadlines because once you don’t, life isn’t just going to hand you an extension. It’s important to always try your best, especially if you’re like me trying to publish a book- just do it. Get it done. Get it off your plate. Then, you can take deep breaths of relief and wait for your next deadline, and tackle it over and over and over again.

Always,

Jinapher J. Hoffman

Also, the “Finding Yourself Trailer” is now out on YouTube! Watch it here & Subscribe: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zfgzvPkh7cU

Leave a Reply

